This post is a part of our series on Maryland family child care licensing. For more on licensing in Maryland, see the following posts:
If you plan to open your own Family Child Care Home in Maryland, you will have to meet certain training requirements. The training requirements will depend on which type of family child care you open. Here’s what you need to know about training if you plan to open a Family Child Care Home or a Large Family Child Care Home in Maryland:
Family Child Care Provider Training Requirements
Preservice Training: An individual who applies for an initial registration shall hold a current certificate indicating successful completion of training in approved:
- First aid: Basic first-aid through the American Red Cross, or a program with equivalent standards;
- CPR: Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) through the American Heart Association, or a program with equivalent standards, appropriate for each age group approved for care in the home;
- Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS): If requesting approval to provide care for children younger than 24 months old, present evidence of having successfully completed, within 5 years before the date of the request, approved training in Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). SIDS training may not be used to satisfy the continued training requirements.
- Infant-Toddler Training: The Office shall not approve a request by an applicant or a provider for an infant toddler capacity of more than two children younger than 2 years old unless the individual has completed 3 semester hours or 45 clock hours of approved training, or the equivalent, related exclusively to the care of children younger than 2 years old.
- Department of Defense training modules for child care providers;
- Emergency and Disaster Planning: Complete approved training on emergency and disaster planning. The Office shall not approve an initial registration application unless the applicant has completed approved training on emergency and disaster planning.
- Breastfeeding Practices: Approved training in supporting breastfeeding practices;
- Americans with Disabilities Act: 3 clock hours of approved training in complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act;
- Medical Administration: Approved training in medication administration. The Office may not approve an application for an initial registration or a continuing registration unless the applicant has completed medication administration training approved by the Office and a currently registered provider shall have completed medication administration training approved by the Office.
- 24 clock hours of approved training: Within 2 years before the application for initial registration is filed, at least 24 clock hours of approved training that includes 4 clock hours in each of the six core of knowledge competencies;
- 90 clock hour course: The 90 clock hour course, or its approved equivalent, that satisfies the pre-service training requirement for a child care teacher or child care center director;
A provider shall successfully complete:
- 18 clock hours: During the first year of registration, 18 clock hours of approved training specified by the Office;
- 12 clock hours: By the end of each 12-month period after the first full year of registration, a total of 12 clock hours of approved continued training that consists of at least 6 clock hours of the core of knowledge training and not more than 6 clock hours of elective training.
Professional Development Plan: The provider shall maintain a professional development plan. Training completed by the provider shall be:
- Consistent with the provider’s professional development plan; and
- Documented by the provider on the professional development plan.
First aid & CPR: Current certification in approved basic first aid and CPR training shall be maintained at all times by the provider and if applicable, the additional adult;
Additional Training Requirements for Large Family Child Care Home Provider
Preservice training: Have successfully completed:
- 9 clock hours of communication training: 9 clock hours of approved pre-service training in communicating with staff, parents, and the public, or at least one academic college course for credit; and
- Administrative training: 3 semester hours or their equivalent of approved administrative training;
- 1-year experience: Have completed 1 year of experience working directly with children in a registered child care home, licensed child care center, nursery school, church-operated school, or similar setting.
How do I access training?
All pre-service training courses must be approved by the the Office of Child Care (OCC). Before you sign up for a course, check with the Regional Licensing Office to make sure the course has been approved. See the on-line training calendar and the list of local resource and referral offices for more information.
Approved training for the purpose of meeting licensing requirements and training and education for the Maryland Credentialing Program can be obtained from a variety of sources:
- Accredited Community Colleges and Universities
- MSDE approved trainers and training organizations
- Maryland Child Care Resource Network directs you to find training and help explain licensing requirements.
- The Statewide Training Clearinghouse Calendar is a resource available to the child care community to locate training advertised by approved trainers and training organizations in a variety of subjects.
- Learn more about Careers in Early Childhood Education here.
Medication Administration Training (MAT) for Child Care Providers: This is a pre-service training required for individuals seeking to acquire a Child Care Center License or a Family Child Care Registration in Maryland. MAT is provided by licensed Maryland Registered Nurses who have completed Medication Administration Trainer training and are approved by the Nurse Consultant in the Office of Child Care’s Licensing Branch. MAT is a six (6) hour training conducted in a classroom setting with theory and practice. A certificate is awarded upon completion of the course in addition to passing content and skill tests. Click here if you need to find an approved Medication Administration RN Trainers in your area. If you are a Registered Nurse interested in becoming a MAT Trainer? Click Here. For additional information contact the Nursing Consultant at (410) 767-1853
Basic Health & Safety training is available free of charge here.
Training Vouchers and Reimbursements: Training Vouchers and Reimbursement are designed to assist child care professionals participating in the Maryland Child Care Credential Program at Level Two or higher with the costs of training and professional development. Funds can be used for:
- Approved Core of Knowledge Training
- Pre-Service Courses
- Registration at local, state and national child care conferences
Child care providers participating in the Credential Program at level two or higher are eligible to receive up to $400 each year as long as funds are available.