This post is a part of our series on Oregon family child care licensing. For more on licensing in Oregon, see the following posts:

Oregon Family Child Care Licensing: An Overview
Types of Licenses
Eligibility
Training Requirements
Home Requirements

Interesting in starting an in-home preschool or child care? In this post, we go over the licensing process to open a Registered Family Child Care Home or Certified Family Child Care Home in Oregon.

Overview of the licensing process

Registered Family Child Care Home Certified Family Child Care Home
Prior to application Overview at a local Child Care Resource & Referral

 

  • Certified Family Child Care Home introductory packet
  • Contact Office of Child Care (OCC) or Licensing Specialist
  • Precertification visit – space approval and receive Certified Family Child Care Home application packet
Prior to visit

 

Enrollment in Central Background Registry

 

Required training

 

  • Introduction to Child Care Health & Safety
  • Food Handlers
  • First Aid and CPR for infants and toddlers
  • Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect (RRCAN)
  • Introduction to Child Care Health & Safety
  • Food Handlers
  • First Aid and CPR for infants and toddlers
  • Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect (RRCAN)
After receiving license

 

  • 10 hours of training within 2 years
  • Minimum of 6 hours of training out of 10 hours must be in child development
  • Annual training requirements vary based on position

Registered Family Child Care Homes licensing process

  • Family Child Care Overview Session: You must attend a family child care overview session prior to submitting your application to the Office of Child Care (OCC)
  • Application Fee: There is a non‐refundable filing fee of $30 for each application. If you submit documentation that your family income is below 100% of the Federal Poverty Level, the fee may be reduced.
  • Civil Penalties: All civil penalties must be paid in full
  • Required Training
    • Introduction to Child Care Health & Safety
    • Food Handlers
    • First Aid and CPR for infants and toddlers
    • Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect (RRCAN)
  • On-site Health & Safety Review: you must satisfactorily complete an on‐site health and safety review conducted by the OCC prior to issuance of a new registration. The review will ensure that you’re in compliance with the rules related to health, safety, and sanitation.
  • To determine if requirements are met, you may be required to supply additional information or permit the OCC, a fire marshal, or a public health official to assess your home and/or review your child care records.

Certified Family Child Care Homes licensing process

  • Introductory Packet: Get the Certified Family Child Care Home introductory packet 
  • Pre-certification Visit: Contact OCC or Licensing Specialist for the pre-certification visit – during this visit, you will get space approval and receive the Certified Family Child Care Home application packet
  • Completed Application: Send the completed application to the Office of Child Care:
    • Application Fee: You must submit a non‐refundable filing fee. For the initial application, the fee is $25 plus $2 for each spot (e.g., the fee for a Certified Family Child Care Home certified to care for 12 children is $24 + $25 = $49).
    • Building and Zoning Requirements: You must provide verification to OCC that the home meets all applicable building codes and zoning requirements that apply to Certified Family Child Care Homes before the initial certificate is issued and whenever the home is remodeled.  
    • Floor plans: Submit a drawing showing the dimensions of all rooms to be used (length and width), the planned use of each room, the location of required exits, the placement of the kitchen and bathrooms, and the location of plumbing fixtures.
  • Background Registry: Enroll in Center Background Registry
  • Inspections:
    • Environmental Health: You have to get the home approved by an environmental health specialist or an authorized representative of the Department of Human Services before a certificate is issued by OCC.
    • Fire Safety: The home may be inspected by the local fire jurisdiction when local ordinances require a fire life safety survey as part of a business license or when OCC determines there is a need to do so. If you apply to care for more than 12 children, you must complete a fire life safe self-evaluation. OCC staff will review the self‐evaluation with you. If they identify fire safety concerns, OCC staff may consult with the fire marshal and after consultation may request that the fire marshal complete a fire life safety inspection.  
  • Required Training:
    • Introduction to Child Care Health & Safety
    • Food Handlers
    • First Aid and CPR for infants and toddlers
    • Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect (RRCAN)

Your application for a certificate must be approved by OCC within 12 months of submission or the application will be denied.

There are two types of certification:

  • A regular certificate which is valid for no more than one year; and
  • A temporary certificate: A Certified Family Child Care Home may not operate under a temporary certificate for more than 180 days in any 12‐month period. A temporary certificate is issued when the home is in compliance with most requirements, there are no deficiencies identified by OCC that are hazardous to children, and the provider demonstrates an effort to be in full compliance.

Sources


This post is a part of our series on Oregon family child care licensing. For more on licensing in Oregon, see the following posts:

Oregon Family Child Care Licensing: An Overview
Types of Licenses
Eligibility
Training Requirements
Home Requirements

JOIN THE WONDERSCHOOL DIGEST
Join 3,000+ visitors who receive our weekly newsletter! You'll get hand-curated content on the latest in early care and education, details on open houses and events from our partner schools, & updates from the Wonderschool blog.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.